Reviews of the DAY BY DAY SERIES

An overview of reviews by various Elvis-experts, reviewers and readers from around the world. 



Day By Day 2021

Carlos Varrenti, author of the new 'The Airplanes and the King' book reviewed the the copy of 'Elvis Day By Day 2021' he got in Memphis during Elvis week 2022. 

 

Sometimes it’s hard to imagine life without the usual things we do every day in our daily routine. Since 2010, when I’ve discovered the Elvis Day by Day blog, it’s been part of my routine every morning. Every day when I wake-up I pick up my coffee and turn on my computer, read my emails and the local news and check out what’s going on in the Elvis world. Yeah I know, the guy has been dead for 45 years, so what possible can there be new? Well, let me tell you, after all those years there is almost something interesting going on in the Elvis world. And this is exactly the beauty of the project Kees Mouwen conceived with his daily Elvis Presley news blog. Elvis legacy keeps being updated, even 45 years after his death. 

 

I remember back in the early 90s I had to wait for months to read the news in the magazines I subscribed to for some Elvis news (and those magazine usually featured just a small news section), or from time to time I got an email from my usual Elvis dealer with a poorly edited newsletter, filled of new and old Elvis CDs, VCDs, DVDs and even some good old VHS tapes, books and sometimes other artists CDs like Johnny cash or Jerry Lee Lewis at the end of the newsletter.

 

When internet become popular, some great Elvis websites started with some news, but those were not updated 24/7. And then the day arrived when this amazing blog came out with this fresh new idea that make us remember at the first glance the Elvis Day by Day book by Ernst Jorgensen and Peter Guralnick. Since the very beginning, this website was not limited only to be an everyday surprise for what’s new in Elvis world, but also a unique archive of Elvis information. It covers Elvis’ modern legacy in news and reviews in much (daily) detail. A true and unique project that will give the future fans the possibility to see what happened in Elvis life after his death. 

 

And in 2019 Kees came up with the idea to publish his first book. The blog, transferred to paper, became a magnificent physical archive of Elvis legacy. 

Reading that first book, I remember buying some of the items he wrote about or reviewed. Getting my parcel from the postman and opening the package watching the King came out from the wrapper. It’s pure magic, and I love it! 

 

During Elvis week 2022 I got my copy of the 2021 yearbook in Memphis, and I really like the modern design of this edition, it’s a must for every fan that wants to have Elvis’ legacy in his library. The balance of the text, illustrations and colors of this edition it’s a true delight. 

 

As always, the objectivity that characterize Kees reviews is key to avoid spending money on the wrong items. Especially in these days when there are so many “cut-and-paste” job releases being pushed out by producers wanting to make a quick buck. Or the many books rehashing old material or being re-re-republished for the zillionth time. I was happy to buy the originals in 1995, I don’t need a new copy! 

On a personal note, the review that Kees did of my Book “The Airplanes & The King” was so good-natured and truly objective. It’s a true honor to be featured in this 2021 edition of ‘Elvis Day By Day’. 

The ‘Elvis Day by Day’ books are here to stay and I’m truly anxious to get my hand on the 2022 edition. Keep flying high Kees! 

 

TCB forever!

Carlos Varrenti

 

Thanks for the kind words Carlos, I appreciate it!

 

MEMORIES OF ELVIS REVIEw DBD 2021

The ‘Elvis Day By Day 2021’ book was recently reviewed by the German Elvis Club Berlin for their ‘Memories of Elvis’ magazine and on-line by the Belgian ElvisMatters fan-club.

 

The Elvis Club Berlin noted: The book is neatly organized and all the events related to Elvis in some way are listed on a day-by-day basis. Of many publications there is also a more or less detailed discussion. A very nice compilation. 

 

ElvisMatters noted: All the Elvis news from 2021 nicely organized in this book with more than 60 in-depth reviews about the important music, film and book releases by and for Elvis fans, Elvis experts and Elvis authors from around the world, making this book has become a real 'international edition'. 

Originally the first book Day By Day was somewhat labeled as 'superfluous', today it appears that this book has been picked up several times when listening to the many releases of recent years. So in short, an informative book that can give you even more pleasure after purchasing so many handsome Elvis items!

 

First impressions:

 

Wow!!! Amazing layout and so massively illustrated, it's a fantastic product that stands high in terms of quality and content! (reader's reaction)

 

Now after the first hours of reading I can only say: perfect as always! Keep on releasing these kinds of books! (reader's reaction)

 

Elvis Day by Day 2021 - the ideal reference book for Elvis collectors and fans who want to be up-to-date

 

Giuseppe Castiglia reviewed the 2021 edition of 'Elvis Day by Day' on the Facebook page of the Elvis Italian Collector Club. 

 

Poplar Tunes Publishing and Memphis Mansion, just released “Elvis Day by Day 2021”. The fourth volume of this series, collected all the news and events of 2021 with additional insights and reviews on the most important releases. This is the ideal reference book for Elvis collectors and fans who want to be up-to-date.

 

This edition has 350 pages and is illustrated with hundreds and hundreds of photos, mainly in color. The graphics and the presentation are very attractive, making this a high quality release. The introduction is written by songwriter Michael Jarrett, the author of “I’m Leavin’” and “I’ll be home on Christmas Day”. 

 

The book follows the same line as Ernst Jorgensen’s “Day by Day”, but with the addition of 60 reviews and articles that analyze the important releases and events. Some of the most authoritative names in the Elvis World contributed with detailed reviews including Carlos R Ares (Argentina), Piers Beagley, Nigel Patterson, Geoffrey McDonnell (Australia), Andy Pendl (Austria), Robert Gilbert (Canada), Michael Sander, Thomas D Weiß (Germany), Rogier van Luyken (The Netherlands), Phil Gelormine, Trina Young (USA). I had the pleasure of contributing to this edition too, with two reviews (written together with the editor Kees Mouwen).

 

2021 has been a year full of news and excellent releases like Sony’s Nashville 1971 set, FTD’s ultimate Jailhouse Rock box, the unreleased Las Vegas 1970 soundboard and the unreleased soundboard recording from Kansas City of 1974. 

 

An impressive amount of vinyl albums saw the light this year, in a wide variety of colors. The “Welcome Home, Elvis” TV Show was - for the first time - released complete and with excellent audio quality. Numerous books covering the many aspects of Elvis’ career, have appeared in online bookstores this year: in particular discographies on Elvis releases from the United Kingdom, Japan, EP's, demos and acetates, the Follow That Dream catalogue and more. 

 

Among the reviews, you will find a good article on my book “Follow That Dream!”, which has also been selected for the Top 10 Elvis releases of 2021. A nice result!.

 

It is interesting to read about the various items that once belonged to the King that were auctioned, including the prices they fetched, as well as reading the tweets and Instagram posts by Linda Thompson, James Burton, Baz Luhrman and others on various Elvis events. 

 

In this volume you will find many news items that passed by in 2021 and you may have missed, like the fact that Elvis has received over 10 gold records (including one from Italy!) all the bootleg releases and much more. The book ends with an overview of the year month by month and a Top 10 of 2021 releases. 

 

Conclusion: a beautiful and classy release, beautifully illustrated. A reference that you will consult continuously. Highly recommended!

 

Elvis Day by Day 2021 - Review On Amazon

 

In 2003 the German language edition of “Elvis A. Presley - The Music, The Man, The Myth”, written by Fleming Marc Hendrickx. A pile of books, A4 format, over six hundred pages thick and heavy.

 

The author, who is on the road on behalf of the Lord, self-confident and zealous to the point of parody, claims in the foreword, like all prophets, that this is the "complete story". "It tells the facts as they happened and the role played by Elvis Presley, his staff and his fans." Amen.

The book, which is nevertheless very readable, introduces - as far as I know as the first - the word of the "Elvis industry". After each year, Hendrickx's running copy accurately summarizes the sales and worldwide chart hits of Elvis' singles, EPs, LPs, movies, etc. However, Hendrickx' overviews of the press and book publications about Elvis are much more exciting. Here even the experienced Elvis disciple learns a lot of new things.

The chapters on the "Elvis industry" do not end in 1977, the year of Elvis' ascension, but continue page after page until the year 2002. In the epilogue, the author asks the rhetorical question: "Will it never end ?“. He answers her three lines further with a curt “No”.

 

Hendrickx himself has stopped observing the exploitation machinery, a quick, superficial googling reveals that he has written young adult and children's books and published a book about Leonard Cohen. [From Elvis to Cohen; rather crude, this line, Hallelujah].

The Elvis industry, according to my observation, really got going after 2002! Keywords: Follow That Dream, Sony Legacy, Memphis Recording Service, fat releases around the 1968 comeback special, TTWII, films like 'The Searcher', 'Elvis by The Presley', newly dug up home recordings from Bad Nauheim, tons of new ones books from Elvis' environment deep into the think tanks of popular culture. Perhaps the Prophet thought it was good now. He's done his job. Let others continue the service of the Lord.

 

Kees Mouwen is Dutch and has been publishing Elvis yearbooks for a number of years. He doesn't use the word "Elvis industry"; his books are called "Elvis Day by Day - The Year in Review", but they are, bottom line, nothing more than a sequel from above.

Kees Mouwen goes a little further, not only reviews and lists official and unofficial books, CDs, LPs, DVDs, but also gives space to people, mostly deceased people, from the Elvis cosmos. So we learn that on July 14, 2021 Becky Yancey passed away. Anyone who can say right away what relation Mrs. Yancey had to Elvis Presley is part of the Elvis cosmos. For whom that was an easy exercise: On September 6, Sam Bell died at the age of eighty-five. Hmm, who was that again?

A page back (September 2nd) we learn the realized auction prices in US dollars of Elvis memorabilia, including the legendary "Eyelet Jumpsuit" designed by Elvis' personal menswear designer Bill Belew and worn by the King at Madison Square Garden in 1972. So how much did you have to shell out? US$637,500.

 

So that you don't get the wrong impression: the main part of the book revolves around books, CDs, LPs and DVDs. There are lots of pictures, lots of text, a clean design. You leaf through the book and day by day it seems more unbelievable how many products, reissues, compilations continue to pour into the market. Even more incredible that there are buyers for all of this.

 

The book can also make sensitive characters tired and sad. It doesn't change the fact that the king is dead. At some point you look at your collection and ask yourself: Isn't that enough? I'd love to talk to Mark Hendrickx about it over a good Belgian beer.

 

By Jernigan on Amazon

 

 



Day By Day 2020

 

Elvis Day by Day 2020 - A Fantastic Initiative and Reference

Rogier van Luyken reviewed 'Elvis Day by Day 2020' for the latest It's Elvis Time magazine. 

 

As he noted: As far as I am concerned, Kees set a new standard with his 'Elvis Day By Day' books when it comes to an Elvis yearbook and reference guide for “everything Elvis Presley” from around the world. I am already looking forward to the 2021 edition and I am also trying to get the 2019 edition. A must! 

 

In 2019 there suddenly was a new Elvis book: "Elvis Day By Day - 2019", written by Dutch Elvis fan Kees Mouwen. A book which offered an overview of everything Elvis from the year 2019. At first, this edition raised some questions. What exactly does this book bring to what we have not already been able to read during the year 2019 on the internet and in the various Elvis magazines, including your own "It's Elvis Time"? The book looked attractive in terms of design, but I decided to wait a while before purchasing it.

 

Recently the announcement of "Elvis Day By Day - 2020" came out and it looked very attractive again. It made me to contact the author, Kees Mouwen, who was kind enough to provide a review copy of his latest book. That's how I first came across this "Elvis Day By Day". And I have to say: I am pleasantly surprised and also very enthusiastic about what is presented here.

 

Not many can say that their book contains a foreword by the well-known, American Elvis biographer Alanna Nash: Kees can, and you will read it in this 2020 edition. This carries weight and shows that this is not just any book. Kees himself is also no stranger to the Elvis world either: he is one of the original founders of the website ElvisNews.com and since 2010 also of the blog: ElvisDayByDay.com.

 

About the origin of the concept for this book, Kees says in an interview with Nigel Patterson of the Elvis Information Network website: “The idea for an Elvis 'yearbook' is a long-cherished ambition ... a complete overview of that happened in a year… This book is to hold in your hand, read and keep for reference. This is a new concept and fans may have to get used to it. When I announced the book, there were many reactions that all the information is already available for free on the internet. Until people saw what this book really is: a complete and illustrated reference to everything Elvis from the past year, complete with reviews and backgrounds”.

 

And that is exactly what makes this book so unique: you think you already know everything, but when you start reading and browsing through this book you cannot stop. 

 

Released by Kees through his own "Popular Tunes Publishing" in cooperation with the Danish 'Memphis Mansion' (Henrik Knudsen), this book makes you realize how much Elvis news and releases there actually are in a year. It is almost impossible to keep track of all of this on the internet, as well as having to buy and collect it all. In this book you can (re)read it all.

 

A nice design and lay-out with color photos and text. Clearly arranged: first all the news and new releases for each month, followed by a few reviews or articles that go deeper into events or releases of that month. Of course: some releases are also discussed in your own IET and so there may be some overlap in what you read in your own IET-magazine and in this book. The added value of this book is that it covers all books, official, import and public domain releases. There is not enough space in your IET-magazine to cover them all.

 

And so there are many releases that I did not know existed, or knew the backgrounds or quality of. Also: many articles and reviews have also been written exclusively for this book and therefore cannot be found or read on the internet or other Elvis magazines. Everything Elvis of the past year will appeal to you: news items, birthdays of acquaintances from the Elvis world, book releases, vinyl releases and new Elvis merchandise that has been released ... It is too much to mention. Also current affairs are discussed: on page 45 we find a chapter entitled "Elvis and COVID-19".

 

I also noticed a few remarkable releases that had completely escaped my attention. Like the one about the booklet "Heli & Elvis". Heli von Westrem turns out to be a lady from Germany who was more than friends and who seems to have been through quite a bit with Elvis during his stay in the army in Germany. She describes life on Goethestrasse 14 as well as an almost kidnapping in Johannisberg, Bad Nauheim. Exciting and I'm going to check that booklet thanks to the tip in this book.

 

The research of this book is so complete that - as an example - we can also follow the Blu-ray DVD releases of "King Creole" throughout the year - as an example - with a separate review of this new release.

 

The highlight of this 2020 edition is a 12-page back-to-back review of the FTD "That's The Way It Is" 8-CD / 2-book release versus Erik Lorentzen's books with the same theme. The quality and care of this book is very high. Complete with a clear index and a Top 10 of best releases of the past year.

 

The book comes in two versions: a paperback edition and a hardcover edition with 24 bonus pages and 8 additional reviews. When the first book by Kees came out - the 2019 edition - there was a review that described the book as' a 2.0 version of the annual 'Elvis Monthly Specials' that appeared between 1963 and 1985. A nice and rightful compliment. And hopefully it gives you an idea of what to expect when purchasing this book.

 

Kees: “Over the past ten years, many Elvis books from the "Elvis Files" and Follow That Dream teams have been published about certain periods in Elvis's life. All look back on his life back then. But the Elvis world today is more than "alive" and very active and so I thought there is room for a book about Elvis "Today" (to quote a classic Elvis album title)".

 

As far as I am concerned, Kees set a new standard with his "Elvis Day By Day" books when it comes to an Elvis yearbook and reference guide for “everything Elvis Presley” from around the world for a certain year. I am already looking forward to the 2021 edition and I am also trying to get the 2019 edition. 

 

It is expected that Kees' books will also be for sale through the new web-shop of your own It’s Elvis Time. A must.

 

May 2021 / Rogier van Luyken

 

Review Graceland Magazine - Four Stars! (Germany)

 

The German Elvis Presley Gesellschaft reviewed 'Elvis Day By Day 2020' in volume 258 of their Graceland magazine. The book received four stars! 

 

The review by Andreas Pendl noted: The concept is reminiscent of the British 'Elvis Specials' which were published from 1962 to 1985. These books were a kind of best of the "Elvis Monthly" booklet and offered a look back at the past year. 

 

That is what Kees Mouwen does with this yearbook - only with much more extensive research and more detailed information. A very good overview of what happened to Elvis in the past year ... with additional exclusive reviews and pictures.

 

Review Elvis Day By Day 2020  

 

Bill Shute, writer for the 60's Music Magazine 'Ugly Things', wrote a review of 'Elvis Day By Day'.

 

Documents the Elvis releases and Elvis-related happenings in the year 2020. 

If you're the kind of person who checks Elvis-related websites and discussion lists a few times each week to find out about new "import" CD's or what will be the next Elvis FTD release, then this book is for you. 

 

It compiles pretty much every Elvis-related activity or release, week by week, throughout the year 2020 and features a number of fascinating close-analyses of some of the major releases (and some of the minor ones too). 

It is a very attractive book with lots of color pics of and information on obscure reissues of audience-recorded shows, European public domain reissues of 50s and early 60s material, every release from Follow That Dream, Elvis One, or Straight Arrow, and Elvis-related books and documentaries. 

The writing is insightful and very knowledgeable, so I'd highly recommend this and the previous 2019 volume to anyone who is seriously into Elvis. I can't imagine someone reading this book and not buying some more "import" or FTD CD's afterwards. 

 

Thankfully, the book deals with Elvis' work, not his personal life (or worse, speculation about his personal life). An excellent job, and I'm looking forward to the 2021 volume, which I hope will come out in 2022.

 

March 2021 / Bill Shute

 

Elvis still has a presence to be reckoned with

Elvis biographer and author Paul Belard (U.S.A.) reviewed the 2020 edition of 'Elvis Day by Day'.

 

A great book proving Elvis is still present and influential. If you have been an Elvis fan, but living as a hermit for the past 44 years, you’ve missed the news of Elvis passing. If you decide to end your years of seclusion in 2021 and your first stop back to civilization is a book store to catch up on Elvis’ career, the last book by Kees Mouwen would still not confirm the King’s final departure. With a title 'Elvis Day By Day 2020 - The Year in Review', how could Elvis be dead?

 

Well, unfortunately, he is! As incredible as it is, it will be soon half a century since he left us. So, as Alanna Nash writes in the foreword: “Why do we still care?”

 

Kees’ book answers the question straightforwardly. Impeccably written, in an attractive and easy to read composition, it is peppered with facts accompanied by high quality B&W and color pictures. It demonstrates in detail that Elvis is still present and influential. And those news items are plentiful since, as the book clearly proves, something still happens almost every day in Elvis world. 

 

In a clever fashion, interviews, film and record reviews are inserted in the day to day listings. The recording sessions that produced two of my favorite albums are examined. They resulted in 'Something for Everybody' and 'His Hand in Mine'. Elvis’ voice had never been so accomplished, with a suppleness and a smoothness, an “effortless grace” as Ernst Jorgensen qualified it in his book 'Elvis Presley A Life In Music'. The spirited interaction with the Jordanaires was faultless, the backing from the Nashville greats pristine. 

 

I want to take this opportunity to thank Kees for listing my books published in 2020, notably for the three-page review of 'Elvis 1960 March 7 to 31'.

 

Kees should be congratulated on two points. Firstly, to have brought to the 21st century the idea of Guralick and Jorgensen’s 'Elvis Day By Day'.

Secondly, for the time and effort that such an endeavor requires. Believe me, I know. I have written several books. It is hard work. Long hours of research resulting in blurry vision and sore wrists. I can also tell that Kees does not do this for the money. To sell a 312 page book of this quality, with color throughout, for only $44 does not leave any room for profit. 

 

With its gorgeous design, its amount of information, 'Elvis Day By Day 2020 - The Year in Review' confirms that Elvis has even now a presence to be reckoned with. It is a must for every Elvis fan. It is a book I will go back to time and time again. Thank you Kees for your work.

 

March 2021 / Paul Belard

 

A Helluva Idea

Elvis Author and Collector Carlos R. Ares (Argentina) reviewed 'Elvis Day by Day 2020'.

 

When I was just 12 years old back in 1961, thanks to the American 'Teen Screen' I discovered the existence of an English magazine devoted 100% to Elvis Presley: the glorious 'Elvis Monthly'. Very soon I began to receive my subscriptions of the mag from far away England. In them I discovered both the pen and heart of a true pioneer of the Elvis World: Albert Hand.

 

I vividly recall my anticipation and subsequent joy at receiving his incredible 'Elvis Specials' in which one could read about everything that had happened Elvis-wise in any given year not just once but over and over again.

"Day By Day 2020' brought me that same feeling.

 

Now, 43 years after Elvis’ passing, it is unbelievable that a 311-page book compiling all the Elvis Presley releases of 2020 alone can be put out.

And the book is far from being simply a list of the releases for it includes a thorough and exhaustive analysis of each and every single one of them.

Research, compilation, editing and design were carried out by Kees Mouwen, with editorial assistance and proofreading by Nigel Patterson. Many articles by (and with) Piers Beagley and Nigel Patterson were extracted with permission from the Elvis Information Network website to complete the picture of the year.

 

I must mention Kees' wit when analyzing some key releases such as ‘Elvis At The Hayride’ ('Little Mamma' with better audio, 'I Forgot To Remember To Forget' at its correct speed) by Henrik Knudsen - Memphis Mansion.

 

Also the fantastic in-depth analysis of the FTD's 'Something For Everybody' and 'That's The Way It Is - 50th Anniversary Collectors’ Edition' and many more.

 

Needless to say that I feel more than proud to be part of this great piece with my book 'Elvis@Argentina 1963-1969' that has gotten such a wonderful review. Thanks once again, Kees!

 

Just quit whatever you are doing and go out and get this wonderful piece of work available at Henrik Knudsen's Memphis Mansion before it sells out.

2021 is already in the works, no doubt it will be another hit!

 

March 2021 / Carlos R. Ares.

 

Praise from readers for the 2020 edition:

  • I strongly recommend this magnificent book. An essential book, an absolute reference. The only regret is that this kind of book should have existed 40 years ago. This would could be a very interesting series of books, done by the same author, on everything that has been released since 1977. An absolute dream for me because I like this kind of reference material. I have already spent hours reading it and I'm going to spend more, that's for sure. I recommend this book and there is one from last year too, these books are just awesome. Well done
  • I really liked the way you "built" them, with reviews, interviews and so on interlaced with the day to day stuff. I am very impressed! And it's like you say, holding one of the books in your hands really makes you realize how much is going on in the Elvis world.
  • The books are a dream - in terms of layout, quality, and content.
  • Just got the book. It is great. You must spend a lot of time on it. The result is worth it. The amount of news is incredible. Magnificent job (Paul Belard, Elvis author).
  • I can really recommend it. A good reference book about what is happening in Elvis area and a detailed overview with reviews of what has been done in 2020. Highly recommended.
  • Kees Mouwen has done a fabulous job, creating a beautiful, stylish and colorful look to the book with even more impact than last year's edition. It features a pile of unique reviews - some very interesting vinyl reviews - as well as a fascinating comparison between the two TTWII deluxe releases from Erik Lorentzen and FTD. There is also a delightful foreword by Alanna Nash.
  • When I first heard about the book last year I thought “Why?” - but no longer. I love the concept and it makes sure you don’t miss anything. I really like it. The book make so much sense.
  • I just received the books and quickly browsed through it and my first reaction is: Wow, the books look beautiful, neat and visually attractive. What a wealth of information and what a lot of work you have put into this! 
  • They say there's nothing like a good book, and this is nothing like a good book because it's way better than that !
  • Received my copy today and my head is spinning around and around, OUTSTANDING!
  • Kees Mouwen, you haven't said too much. The yearbook has become breathtakingly beautiful. Beautiful layout, beautiful photos and a lot to read, a must for the collector, on to the 2021 yearbook 👍 
  • These books are beautiful, the content is well laid out. I had a good time reviewing his last two years.
  • This is a must have for all Elvis fans. Love it!
  • I've been a fan since 1966 and Elvis has been with me ever since. I'm sure I'll like your book, the first one was beyond awesome.
  • I just ordered it, I can't wait to receive it, I loved last year's one a reference and high quality book. I hope this will be repeated over several years. 
  • Super idea! Great overview, made by fans for fans. Five Stars.

 



Day By Day 2019 

 

What an amazing book this is, THE  NEW Elvis Special!

Review by Joan Gansky, Elvis author and fan.

 

What an amazing book this is! This book is not only a daily diary of all Elvis news for 2019, it contains precise and detailed facts on every album, CD, book etc. released, including European issues and "bootlegs" as well as FTD releases.. they are all here!

Older Elvis fans will probably remember the "Elvis Special" annuals put together by Albert Hand in the UK when Elvis was alive.

These were fairly basic, around 80 pages and with very little probing content. They often listed Elvis songs, films and included lots of (usually rather substandard) black and white photos. Occasionally they featured a skimpy film or album review from the year and then perhaps a lightweight article on what fans thought of Elvis!


To be honest I did have a few articles printed in them back in the day! But these, of course, were pre-internet and, my, how things have changed since then. Elvis has been gone 42 years and yet in this new 'Elvis Special 2019' author Kees Mouwen has put together a totally packed 300-page colour book of everything Elvis in 2019. As he notes in the preface, Elvis' legacy seems to be more alive in 2019 than it did back in those "Elvis Specials" years.

The real impact of this compendium is to discover that something "ELVIS" was published or announced, or featured in the media, almost every day last year.
- and that's without including the regular UK tabloid rubbish!

The day-by-day information is laid out in three-columns and is easy to read. With plenty of full-page images of Elvis, for a self-produced book, it is beautifully designed.

Along with the daily news there are detailed articles pertinent to these happenings of 2019, written by Elvis experts in their field (including EIN's Nigel Patterson, Piers Beagley and others).

 

I must also comment on the great quality of the photos included throughout the book, that definitely enhance the overall appeal and the carefully researched and detailed written information. Each month is also accompanied by at least one review of the month's major Elvis release.

The book's reviews look at all kinds of releases from SONY to MRS vinyl to Erik Lorentzen's books plus all the major FTD releases.

 

Taking January 2019 alone as an example, the month featured multiple vinyl and CD releases (bootleg and FTD), Elvis' Birthday, the Elvis Graceland auction, several new Elvis book announcements, Elvis magazines, Elvis on the front of the US TV Guide, Rick Stanley, Reggie Young and Harold Bradley died, 'Elvis In Concert' played in Mexico City, plus Elvis featured in the US charts. And January certainly wasn't the busiest month!

For January 2019 the book also includes a lengthy review of the FTD 'St. Paul to Wichita 74' double soundboard (the positive review makes one want to go and revisit it) plus a review of the two Paul Belard books released that month.

Of course almost all of this can be found if you want to search the internet - (the acknowledgements indicate just how many sources the author uses) - however the book puts it all together in a much more accessible way. And what a delight to find a detailed Index at the back.

Having this book handy to refer to when a thought or question regarding Elvis pops into conversation (or your own head!) - will prove invaluable.. especially the size being so compact!  I find my heavy, over-sized "deluxe" Elvis books get "used" less and less these days.

 

The author notes that several of the reviews are brand new for the book and have never been published elsewhere. I was interested to read new reviews on releases such as the 'Elvis In Paris' book, Lorentzen's 'Elvis Now In Person', the Dutch 'De Elvis 100', 'Elvis Is Back Sessions' and others.

 

We are both honored and proud that this book features my husband Paul's photographs and my fond memories of August '69 at the International Las Vegas! When I wrote them back at that time, I never dreamed 50 years later they would be printed in any book, especially one of this high caliber.  This ongoing deep interest is due to Elvis Presley and the enduring love for and appreciation of him by his fans worldwide.

The book neatly ends with Shane Brown's excellent look back at "2010-2019: Decade In Review". The 2020 Graceland Auction announcement demonstrates the book's stylish design


Overall Verdict: I do try to keep up with all things "Elvis" but was pleasantly surprised to read something new to me on nearly every page!  It kept me engrossed throughout - as I learned details and facts that were either new to me, or I had, sadly, forgotten.


I thoroughly recommend this book - if you are reading this, then you are an Elvis fan, and I am sure you will enjoy and appreciate it too! My congratulations and thanks to author Kees Mouwen on an exceptional book project so very well done!

We wonder what Albert Hand would think if he was still alive today.

February 2020 / Joan Gansky 

 

Reader's reactions on the 2019 edition:

  • The German Elvis Presley Gesellschaft wrote: I definitely recommend this book. It not only offers an excellent overview of everything Elvis has done in 2019, but also a review of Elvis ’active time through the anniversaries, topics and reviews.
  • Lee Dawson on the Elvis Express Radio Show: “It’s packed, there is so much color, it’s beautiful … It’s brilliant , nothing sure of absolutely brilliant”. “It is kind of like the old annuals, the Elvis Specials”. This could be the new one of those". “Get it if you can, you will not be disappointed”.
  • The Elvis The Man And His Music magazine (vol. 128) complimented the design: ‘It is extremely well laid out - in full color, easily accessible and fully illustrated’.
  • Henrik Knudsen from the Danish Memphis Mansion quoted: "This is an informative and easy to read book for fans and collectors, only when you read it you know what you missed. It should have been done years ago, I hope this is the start of a new series”. 
  • The Elvis Information Network may be biased (as we contributed to the book) but it is a it is a FABULOUS book.


Anthony Stuchbury Elvis audio guru and fan wrote: One word WOW! This is more like the Elvis 2019 diary of information, with reviews to boot.

I chose the hardback edition as I thought it might be something I'd be using in the future for reference purposes, and I was correct. The cover feels like velvet, it's got a smooth soft feel, and the printing quality of the pages is crisp, balanced and sharp.

I was initially going to wait to purchase it from the author in Denmark in August, but as everything everywhere is up in the air due to current events I decided to get it now, and I don't regret it !! I can only imagine the hours and hours that have gone into compiling this, let alone the patience required.

Do I recommend it? Hell, yeah !

 



Day By Day 2018 

 

Ugly Thing Magazine Review

 

Author Bill Shute reviewed ‘Elvis Day By Day 2018’ for the November 2021 edition of the U.S. based Ugly Things magazine (you got to love that name!). 

 

Shute considered the Day By Day blog as “an invaluable resource documenting everything that happens which is Elvis-related on a daily basis” and found the ‘Day By Day’ books “to be an invaluable resource”. Also great to read is that he valued the contributions of all the guest-writers without whom I couldn't have created these books.

 

On the 2018 volume he noted: “if you are looking for a book that includes exhaustive analysis of significant new Elvis releases … and new discoveries and new archival projects, Elvis Day By Day 2018 should be an essential purchase” and “I don’t care who The King dated or what he ate, but I do care about his music, and the Elvis Day By Day series of books treats that work with the care, respect, accuracy, and knowledge that it deserves”. 

Thanks you for these kind words Bill!

 

Graceland Magazine Review

 

Thomas Weiss reviewed 'Elvis Day By Day 2018 - The year In Review' for the German Graceland fan-club magazine (volume 261). 
The reviewer noted the complete and detailed chronology of the book in news, reviews, interviews and articles of everything that happened in 2018 in one illustrated physical reference. 

 

In his detailed review Thomas wrote: "A very complete and enjoyable publication, which can be very helpful, especially when you're looking for information about new publications or their announcements. I highly recommend this book for fans who are interested in the theme Elvis."

 

It's Elvis Time Magazine Review

 

Rogier van Luyken reviewed 'Elvis Day by Day 2018' for the latest edition of the Dutch It's Elvis Time magazine, volume 296. 


He wrote: "I dare say that Kees - compiler, producer and also the designer of these books - has outdone himself with this 2018 edition. The book looks top-notch from front to back. The cover is beautiful and inspired by the '68 Comeback Special; after all, in 2018 was the 50th Anniversary of this iconic TV Special of our hero. Each month covers all the news and releases of that month and the highlights are present as extensive reviews. ... An excellent book to read in the coming autumn. As reported, in my opinion Kees has outdone himself with this edition and I am already looking forward to 'Day By Day 2017', but 'Day By Day 2021' will be welcomed too!"

 

The Best One Of The Series Yet!

Review by Harald Feucht (Germany)

 

The 2018 book is terrific and superbly made. Congratulations to you and your team. For me the 2018 edition is the best one yet in this series yet!  The other 2019 and 2020 releases are fantastic too, but a little bit different in the details. Isn't it amazing what still can be said and reported about the only King of Music and Entertainment, and the beautiful products keep coming out.

 

Unfortunately, Elvis passed away physically over 44 years ago; but what a fantastic musical legacy he left behind. Not only the 1128 shows he did between July 1969 and June 1977, but also the 33 great films he made and countless fantastic studio session recordings he left us.

 

It is always a pleasure to hear an Elvis record or CD or LP. No matter which one. The man was a phenomenon, and out of reach for any other musician. Only he is the only true King that the word has ever applied to!

 

Please continue this series with 2021 and volumes on older years, going back from 2017. Collectors and fans will love it. It makes a big difference to just browse on-line through a small or big screen or hold an exceptionally made book like this in your hands with an unbelievable amount of information and details. Well done Kees. Great job!.

 

Harald Feucht / September 2021 

 

Reader's reactions on the 2018 edition:

  • "As an Elvis fan of 47 years I thought I already knew all there was to know about Elvis and his life & career. Then I came across these great day by day volumes. Interesting, informative and full of new detail and stories of the King. If your looking for a definitive review of all things in the Elvis world I’d recommend all 3, you won’t want to put them down." Richard Chapman (United Kingdom).
  • "This book is a bit like a bible for a CD, DVD and book collector" (Amazon customer)
  • "I bought this book without any hesitation. I already have the first two books which are for me absolute reference. I will have hours of fun guaranteed with the third. I would like the producer to give us a volume on the year 2017, it's one of the biggest years of the 40th anniversary of Elvis's death ... that would be really great. I advise you to all those books which are very precious to me. They are of a very high quality worthy of the king of rock n roll, with superb photos. Thank you to the producer and his team, I wish them long life and keep up the excellent work. I am already looking forward to a fourth volume and more more more ... the sky is a no limit." - Martin St-Pierre (Canada).
  • "This is gonna be a great book, and Kees, I wish you a lot of success with this book, what a great initiative." - Robert Frieser (The Netherlands).
  • "I was very impressed with the first edition. Look forward to others. This is from a fan’s fan point of view. Carry on Kees." - Phil Gelormine (United States).
  • "I may be slightly biased but my copy of the book has arrived in Australia and it is a real stunner. A very eye-catching design and reading back through some 2018 articles made me want to revisit some all-too-soon forgotten books, vinyl and DVDs. A very nice addition to the collection." - Piers Beagley (Australia).
  • "Thank you for all the hard work that you continue to do. This 2018 retrospective really is bringin' it back." - Anthony Stuchbury (United Kingdom).